Good Friday: Hike with Jesus

“I want to do something different for Easter this year.”  I say that every year, and it usually ends up with slipping up on Lenten promises or skipping out on Good Friday service.  (Probably shouldn’t have admitted any of that to the Internet.)IMG_4596

God taught me so much this school year.  As a college junior, the reality of life and adulthood is beginning to dawn on me and my classmates.  With so much change happening – mentally, emotionally, academically, vocationally – I firmly committed to actually doing something special on the day commemorating the crucifixion of our Savior.

Freshman year, I wrote this article on Millennial Influx about spending time with God and friends at Devil’s Lake in Wisconsin.  Re-reading the piece inspired me.

I texted my friends: “Good Friday.  We are waking up early.  We are getting coffee.  We are driving to Wisconsin.  We are going to pack a lunch, hike, listen to Chris Tomlin, nap in a hammock, share bible verses, and spend time with Jesus.”

Friends; resounding, “YES.”

We drove an hour and a half to Lake Geneva in Wisconsin, and hiked a scenic trail for 2 miles.  We stopped at a breathtaking site to hammock, meditate, journal, and sing hymns.

IMG_4565

 There is a fountain filled with blood
drawn from Emmanuel’s veins;
and sinners plunged beneath that flood
lose all their guilty stains.

IMG_4573

The dying thief rejoiced to see
that fountain in his day;
and there may I, though vile as he,
wash all my sins away.

IMG_4568

Dear dying Lamb, thy precious blood
shall never lose its power
till all the ransomed church of God
be saved, to sin no more.

IMG_4588

E’er since, by faith, I saw the stream
thy flowing wounds supply,
redeeming love has been my theme,
and shall be till I die.

IMG_4575

Then in a nobler, sweeter song,
I’ll sing thy power to save,
when this poor lisping, stammering tongue
lies silent in the grave.

IMG_4577

Surely he took up our pain and bore our suffering, yet we considered him punished by God, stricken by him, and afflicted. – Isaiah 53:4

Remember Christ today.


“On the first Good Friday, Jesus Christ died on the cross in your place.  He took your judgment, your sin, your death.” – Billy Graham

Commune with Christ:  Matthew 27:32-56, John 19, Acts 2:24-36

 

 

Leave a Reply

